Misdemeanor charges are typically minor criminal offenses that won’t necessitate any hefty fines or time behind bars. However, this doesn’t mean that they don’t require prompt attention and legal assistance. Misdemeanors can snowball and spiral out of control if the defendant fails to promptly handle court dates, fines, or court-mandated community service.
Making sure you have the right defense for your misdemeanor charges is something you need to handle immediately. Failure to do so can result in your misdemeanor charges turning into warrants for your arrest or additional fines added onto what you were previously ordered to pay. Because of this, you need to make sure you have the right Collin County criminal defense lawyer on your side before your case winds up becoming much worse than before.
Misdemeanor Charges Defense Lawyer in Plano, Allen, Frisco, and McKinney, TX
If you have ever been charged with a misdemeanor offense in Collin County, you may need to call a criminal defense attorney in Plano. As an experienced criminal defense attorney, Richard McConathy and his legal defense team have a proven track record of helping clients avoid convictions. Serving Plano, Frisco, McKinney, Fort Worth, and the other surrounding areas of Collin County, our law office is ready to start assisting you with your misdemeanors. Call us today at (469) 304-3422 to speak with a litigation expert.
Collin Misdemeanor Offenses in Collin County
Examples of common misdemeanor offenses include, but are not limited to the following:
- Criminal Mischief
- Reckless Driving
- Driving While License Suspended
- Public Intoxication
- Violation of Protective Order
Please be aware that these are not all the possible misdemeanors you can be charged with. This list is meant to point out some of the most common misdemeanor charges and convictions in Collin County.
Differences Between Collin Felony and Misdemeanor Offenses
In general, misdemeanors are considered to be far less severe than felonies. As a result, those who are convicted of misdemeanors rather than felonies tend to receive much less severe penalties than their counterparts. Felony convictions are typically punishable by over a year of jail time, whereas misdemeanor prison sentences usually last less than a year.
Types of Misdemeanors in CollinCounty
Texas law typically defines a misdemeanor offense as a criminal offense of a lower degree of severity than a felony offense. Misdemeanors are punishable by a prison sentence of less than one year, while felonies are typically entailing 1+ years behind bars.
According to the Texas Penal Code section 12.03, in the state of Texas, there are three different types of misdemeanors that you may be charged with.
- Class A Misdemeanor
- Class B Misdemeanor
- Class C Misdemeanor
Class A is the most serious misdemeanor one can be charged with, while Class C is the least serious misdemeanor.
Texas Misdemeanor Charges Penalties
Texas Penal Code Code § 12.21 states that an individual who is convicted of a Class A misdemeanor can face fines not to exceed $4,000 and jail time of up to one year. Texas Penal Code § 12.22 includes information on Class B; citizens who are guilty of Class B misdemeanors can be punished by fines of up to $2,000 along with 180 days of jail time. Lastly, the least severe misdemeanor, Class C, is punishable by a fine of $500, according to Texas Penal Code § 12.23.
Habitual Misdemeanor Offenses
Misdemeanors typically carry small fines and consequences (compared to felony charges) but those who consistently commit misdemeanor crimes will find that the ensuing penalties will increase in severity. Texas Penal Code § 12.43 states that additional penalties may be brought upon individuals who repeatedly commit misdemeanors. A repeat or habitual offender is defined as someone who has previously been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor.
Habitual offenders who are charged with a Class C misdemeanor charge can be punished by fines up to $2,000 in addition to a jail sentence up to roughly 6 months (180 days). This is applicable if said offender has been convicted of disorderly conduct or public intoxication three (or more) times within the previous 24 months.
Individuals who are charged with Class B misdemeanors while already having a previous Class A misdemeanor, Class B misdemeanor, or felony conviction can be punished by a fine not to exceed $2,000 along with a jail sentence in the range of 30-180 days.
Lastly, the Class A misdemeanor will carry the most serious penalties and consequences. If an individual has a previous Class A misdemeanor or felony conviction on their record while being charged with a current Class A misdemeanor, they can face fines up to $4,000 along with a jail sentence ranging from 90 days to one year.
Collin County Resources For Misdemeanor Offenders
Collin County Court at Law Clerks: Criminal FAQ – This link takes you to the official Collin County website, where you can read more about frequently asked questions in regards to criminal cases that take place in Collin County and its surrounding areas.
Collin County Diversion Program – This link takes you to the official Collin County DA’s website, where you can learn about local diversion programs.
Find a Collin County Misdemeanor Charges Defense Attorney | Law Office of Richard C. McConathy
The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy are here to help you with your misdemeanor charges when you feel as though your legal troubles are too much to handle on your own. For more information on how our team can help you get through your litigation struggles, call our Collin County law office today at (469) 304-3422 to receive a free, confidential consultation from a legal expert on our team. Led by experienced criminal defense attorney Richard McConathy, our office is able to serve clients located in Plano, McKinney, Fresno, and the other surrounding areas of Collin County.